top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda

The Emergency Kit


When we learn to drive, one thing that is encouraged as we take off for the first road trip is to make sure that we have an emergency kit with us. Parents and friends do their best to prepare us for any issue that might arise during our travel. As I was saving helpful quotes to my board on Pinterest at a time when I was looking for some encouragement, the thought came to me that I should create an emergency kit of sorts.


It is definitely true that there are certain areas that I struggle with and these seem to cycle through repeatedly. I will say that praying is the first step and continuing to grow my relationship with God, but I could not stop thinking about this and that perhaps, I could be proactive in creating this emergency kit so when I was struggling, I could reach for it instead of floundering around trying to find the supplies before addressing the issue.


The Kit


1. Scripture

In a notebook or on a Pinterest board, I list scripture references that meet me where I am and show God’s love and encouragement dealing with the struggle. Many verses may be found on Pinterest by searching the reference or on Biblegateway.com by topic or reference.



Quote by Bekah Jane Pogue- http://bekahpogue.com/


2. Quotes

I am always searching quotes for different reasons or occasions and it seems like no matter what I am searching, I find a quote or quotes that speak to me. I also find that if there is a certain speaker/ writer that just seems to get me, I will search quotes under his/her name and find some great ones.


3. Passage from a book

I like to read and I read a lot of books that would be labeled as “Self help” or “Personal Growth.” As I read, I will jot down passages when I am listening to an audio book or I highlight if I am reading a hard copy.


4. Words from a friend

As we all go through life, when a friend knows that we are struggling or God gives them a nudge, they will say the perfect thing or send a text or a card. When I hear or receive these nuggets, I keep them and they often help me through a rough spot time and time again. The cup below was my brother's when we visited his local coffee shop after his wife passed away.


5. Music

There are so many songs that transport me through time to a specific time and place and there are also songs that speak to the deepest part of me. Many songs have spoken to me and helped me in a moment when I was experiencing a low spot.


6. Videos

Music videos or short clips where a speaker is addressing a specific issue will often provide some insight and encouragement.


7. Reflection

Looking back to the past when I have struggled with this issue often provides me with exactly the steps to take that allow me to leave the current issue behind me.


God is and has always walked me through all of the struggles that I have been though and that is why I start with prayer and end in reflection.

It is my plan to walk through some of my different Emergency Kits over the next few blog posts. I hope that you will join me.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page