top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda

Emergency Kit: Worry




Worry, when I was deciding which Emergency Kit to assemble first, it just seemed like a good place to start. Here is my collection, I hope that you will find something here that speaks to you or will be something worth keeping if you find yourself worrying.

Scripture


Luke 12:25a and 26 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? NIV


Colossians 3:2

Let heaven fill your thoughts; don’t spend your time worrying about things down here. TLB





Quotes


Sorrow looks back, Worry looks around, Faith looks up.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Pray for wisdom to deal with whatever is worrying you. Pray that God will act to change the circumstances according to His will. He doesn’t always do what we want Him to – but He knows what’s best for us, and He can be trusted.”

Billy Graham



Book Passage

Worried people are like tightrope walkers, trying to walk over a rope from the past to the future, balancing between hope and fear. In one hand they hold a bag with the disordered past, in the other bag, the feared future. Worrying does not take away tomorrow’s grief; it takes away today’s strength. It does not enable us to avoid evil, but it makes us incapable of dealing with it when it comes.”


I once heard a nice story, a kind of legend. A small clock, which had just been finished by its maker, was put on a shelf in his shop between two old clocks that were busily and loudly ticking away the seconds. “So,” said one of the old clocks to the newcomer, “you’ve just started this task. I feel sorry for you. You are bravely ticking now, but you’ll be very tired once you’ve ticked thirty-three million times.”


“Thirty-three million ticks?” said the startled clock, “but I could never do that!” He immediately stopped in desperation.


“Come on,” said the other clock. “Why do you listen to such talk? That’s not how things are. At each moment you only need to tick once. Isn’t that easy? And then again. That’s just as easy. Carry on like that.”


“Oh, if that’s all,” the new clock cried, “then that’s easy enough. Off I go.” And he began to bravely tick each moment, without paying attention to the months and the millions of ticks. When the year was up, he had ticked thirty-three million times without realizing it.


Yes, living for the moment, that’s what you need. The Lord’s Prayer says, “Give us today our daily bread.” …A person does not fall so much because of the troubles of one day, but if tomorrow’s burden is added, this load can become very, very heavy. It is wonderfully easy to live just for the day.

Corrie ten Boom- Reflections of God’s Glory


Words from a friend


As I thought about this and times when I have been worried about something, the thing that has stuck with me the most is having a friend who I had shared the issue with simply say, “How can I pray for you?”


Music


https://youtu.be/OKHZRMN1E0M I Know Who Holds Tomorrow

Video

DO NOT WORRY | God Is Bigger Than Fear - Inspirational & Motivational Video https://youtu.be/JkQtZCJKWmI

Reflection


When I look back at times that I have worried about things, the simple truth is that when I truly let go of it and asked God to handle it, He blessed me with something more than I had hoped for or could have orchestrated myself.

Have a blessed and worry free week. ;) <3




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page