top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda

The big picture



The wedding day is a time of bliss and love where the focus is on the two of you and it seems that time stands still as you play out the plans that have been made over the past few months. You look into each other's eyes and say words committing to a lifetime of love and devotion.


But do we go into this relationship expecting our spouse to complete us and make us happy? The world would tell us that yes, that is exactly what we should expect- but the Bible teaches us that our heart should be filled by God and that He alone can provide everlasting Joy.


The precepts of the Lord are right, giving joy to the heart. The commands of the Lord are radiant, giving light to the eyes. Psalm 19:8 (NIV)


When Michael and I first began dating, he asked me if I had ever read the book- You and Me Forever by Francis and Lisa Chan. I had never heard of this book, but I will say that it changed my perception on marriage. This book looks at marriage in light of eternity. I would like to share this video today and I hope that you will take the time to watch/ listen. In this video the Chans touch on this way of living, but for even more direction and detail, the book will be a great read to continue taking your marriage forward.




If it is hard for you to look to God for your joy, I would like to suggest reading Uninvited. I mention this book often and it is because it saved my life. At a time that I was feeling the most nothingness, and not enough of my life. God spoke to me and reassured me that He loved me and that I was enough. There were so many illustrations shared in this book that lined up with my own life experiences.


Have a great day. I'd love to hear your comments!



Linda




Books that I am reading now-


Hidden Joy in a Dark Corner; the transforming power of God's story by Wendy Blight,


The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian &


Praying God's Word by Beth Moore


Our daily devotional (which we try to read everyday, but usually hit about 3 out of 5)-

Moments Together for Couples by Dennis and Barbara Rainey (It's a bit outdated and aimed at early marriage and child rearing more than life as newly married 50 somethings, but still makes some good points that are applicable to living as a Christian couple.)








34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page