top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda

Change



Change is something that is inevitable and basically just part of day to day living. It is something that we should ride like a wave and perhaps not try to control but to trust God for the change, the reason behind it and the new path that will be worn as a result.


In the past few weeks my family has suffered together and apart, heartbroken, as we lost my sister in law who dropped dead of a heart attack at 48 with no warning. We have also been adrift and distraught over my nephew, (my other brother's son) who was left by his wife and accused of sexually abusing his step daughter which I don’t believe for a minute, but the local law enforcement has focused on him and investigated no one else, and he is currently sitting in the county jail awaiting arraignment.

I don’t understand why my younger brother and their sons lost a wife and mother. I also do not understand why my nephew sits in a jail cell trying to make sense of these accusations, lost love, and having too much time to worry about his stepdaughter and trying to figure out who actually did harm her and not being able to talk to or console these children who have called him Dad for the past 4 years.


This is more than a bad day. More than something just not going as planned, this is life altering and out of our hands. What do you do when you find yourself in a situation where people that you love are hurting, and there is nothing that you can do to sooth them or have a tidy little word to speak to them that will make it all make sense and take the sting out of it?


The only thing that comes to me to cope and trust is to submit each day to Christ. I am still hurting, still wanting to fix the hurt for those who are at the core of it, but all that I can do is wake up each day and before my feet touch the floor, offer thanks for the opportunity of a new day, and then offer it back to God. The day will be as He plans it to be, good or bad, but if I begin the day in this way, my mind is yielded to what it will bring and my heart is trusting in His grace and love to get me through.


Please pray for my family for direction, comfort, peace and healing.


Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV)


Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.


Psalm 23 (NIV)


The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,

He leads me beside quiet waters,

He refreshes my soul.

He guides me along the right paths

for His name’s sake.

Even though I walk

through the darkest valley,

I will fear no evil,

for You are with me;

Your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me

in the presence of my enemies.

You anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

Surely Your goodness and love will follow me

all the days of my life,

and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page