top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda

Best Laid Plans



Have you ever followed the rules, been efficient and acted quickly to have it done and to be able to make choices in the outcome and then at the last minute something went awry? I recently had something similar happen to me, following is the list of actions and the outcome that I felt guaranteed what would happen as I was shopping for a wedding gift.


Equation

Look at wedding registry immediately upon release

+ Set a budget

+ Find a gift that will make an impression

+ Make the purchase

+ MARK THE ITEM AS PURCHASED

+ Wrap the gift beautifully

= Look forward to the surprise and appreciation of the recipients


Seems simple enough doesn’t it? I thought so, but here we are about 48 hours out from the wedding and this morning while I was getting ready for work, my husband was scrolling through Facebook and announced to me that the couple had received the exact same thing that I purchased at a work shower this week! What?!?!?! Now instead of being something special when they open it, my fear is that it will become another package on the duplicate pile that represents nothing more than having to spend a day returning gifts to the store. Of course, since I am a rule follower, my mind just kept replaying the phrase- “But I marked it as ‘purchased’ on the registry, 3 months ago!”


I know of course that this is a straight up first world problem and that maybe there is something that the happy couple has recently decided that they would like, that returning my gift will allow them to purchase. But in my mind the gift and the giving is deflated and the warm feeling of giving is gone. Yet, nothing has changed about the gift, it is still a good gift, it was purchased with love, and it was chosen specifically for them. When it comes down to it my feelings are selfish and I’m upset because things didn’t go as I planned.


Have you ever found yourself in a similar situation?


The past week, a verse has come to me at least three times, it was mentioned in a sermon that I listened to, it was in my devotions one day, and it was in a Bible Study that I working through. It gets my attention when things keep popping up or circling around like this.


The verse is- Proverbs 16:9, In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps. (NIV)


Now, I know that the example that I shared is trivial in the big picture and it really does not matter that much who got the newlyweds a certain gift. I am reminded of other things in life though, that may not go exactly as we have planned, plotted, and hoped for. Maybe there was a job that didn’t pan out, a diagnoses didn’t go as we hoped, a loss of someone close to us, or a day that doesn’t seem perfect because we are missing someone special.


As I was quickly able to create the equation about the wedding gift above, I also mentally create such equations pertaining to all sorts of situations in my life. You see, as someone who follows the rules, I often times (okay- always) expect the outcome to fall into place as a result of all my rule following. As we all know that isn’t the case. This verse emphasis to us that we can make the plan, but ultimately God is directing our steps and bringing the result.


It is a reminder once again to give whatever is stressing me to God. He has an outcome already and I need to trust Him and His knowledge to lead me through something pleasant or unpleasant, to teach me along the way and even to bless me through something awful, if I will follow His lead.

John 16:33 says, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (NIV)


Several days of the last three weeks have been spent by my Dad’s bedside in the hospital. He has had a few issues- pneumonia, blood clots in his lungs, and an infection that became Septic. Most days we would sit waiting for him to come around and visit with us, but he continued to sleep day after day and only spoke a few words each day. Mom stayed every night with him and I stayed about four with both of them, concerned for my Mom’s well-being as well as my Dad’s health.


My dad has been a Christian since I was two and has lived a life that shows his love and dedication to the Lord. Many of the years between then and now, he has been in full time ministry pastoring and/or starting and pastoring churches. It is hard to accept that someone who gave his life should be living in a nursing home with Dementia and most recently lying in a hospital bed fighting for his life, but he is.


It is definitely a time of wondering why and trying hard to let go and trust that God knows what the outcome will be and that He has a plan.


Romans 11:6 states that, “And if by grace, then it cannot be based on works; if it were, grace would no longer be grace.”


I mean, doesn’t that pretty much slap us in the face with- No matter how good I am at following the rules, I cannot, in my own power change the outcome.


The outcome is dependent on grace, God’s grace.


This blog post has been here and there, but the more that I write and read scriptures, it all boils down to salvation. The outcome of it all is eternity, and the result that we are trusting for is forever with the Lord. This is, in the end what we long for and it is something that many feel can be earned through our rule following, but the Bible tells us otherwise. It is a gift given through grace.


For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— Ephesians 2:8


Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.” Acts 4:12


“Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” Romans 10:13


If you have not prayed, asking for salvation in Christ- here is a simple prayer to do that and begin a new life with Him.


I thank You Lord for dying on the cross for my sins and I believe that You were raised from the dead. Please forgive me of my sins, come into my heart, save me, make me Your own and lead me in Your way. In Jesus’ name, Amen.


If you, like me, are having a hard time letting go of things and trusting God with it- this prayer may be helpful in getting you started dealing with specific issues in your own life.


Dear Lord- Please forgive me for trying to do things my way and create my own rewards. You are the one in control and I long to release all things to You and to trust that You will lead my steps.


Praying that you have a wonderful week.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page